WDAS Axes Michael Baisden Show

WDAS Axes Michael Baisden Show

Michael Baisden Commentary: Goodbye WDAS and Philadelphia!

Michael Baisden’s show has been canceled at WDAS, here is his letter to fans from the market.

To my listeners on WDAS in Philadelphia, when you turn on your radios today at 3pm ET you will no longer hear the Michael Baisden Show. The powers that be at Clear Channel have decided that music is enough in the afternoon to achieve their ratings goals. Although we were consistently in the top 5, and beating our nearest Urban Adult competitor by 10 positions, the decision was made to remove The Michael Baisden Show. While I am excited about adding Columbus, OH, last week, and I appreciate my other 78 affiliates, there seems to be a disturbing trend in urban radio to opt to give the black community less information about what’s going on in our community, even when my program is competitive, and in some cases winning in it’s time slot.

Who is going to sound the alarm in Dallas, St Louis, New York, and now Philadelphia when the next election comes around, or when the next Trayvon Martin or Jena 6 happens? The Mornings Shows do a good job, but the influence of The Michael Baisden Show has been critical to bringing social awareness to our communities.

But I don’t blame the radio networks that remove my program; I blame us as a community. The main objective of these companies is to make a profit for their Share Holders. I was told by a radio executive many years ago, “This is an advertising business first and the (read more)

One thought on “WDAS Axes Michael Baisden Show

  1. I blame George – he was simply horrible. I don’t think I laughed at not one of his jokes the entire time he was on. Listening to Michael’s forced laughter was pathetic.

Leave a Reply

